Skip directly to content

Dreams of Dogs, May 1st at Kominek Gallery

The International Limited-Residency MFA in Photography program at the Hartford Art School - University of Hartford, in collaboration with Berlin’s Kominek Gallery will host The Dreams of Dogs, an exhibition opening this May Day. The exhibition was edited by Jörg Colberg and features work by first year students in the program.

Artist Reception May 1, 2015  7- 9PM at these following 3 locations:

Kominek Gallery

Immanuelkirchstr. 25

Art Studio Heymann

Immanuelkirchstr. 25

Vice Versa Distribution GmbH

Immanuelkirchstr. 12


The Dreams of Dogs brings together diverse new work by students from across the United States and South America. Searches of identity and meaning within our daily lives are explored and specific areas such as the complexity of parenthood and our relationships to our immediate loved ones are expressed photographically in this exhibition. In addition, notions of landscape are expressed as subtle observations and interactions between existing landscapes and the temporary ones created alongside the development of land in different regions.

The exhibition contains works by 13 photographers currently enrolled in the Hartford Art School’s International Limited Residency Master of Fine Art in Photography program at the University of Hartford, they are: Matt Eich, Jenia Fridlyand, Aaron Hardin, Martin Herrera, Cody Holcombe, Kelly Lynn James, Lori Lynn, Peter Morse, Nicole Rosenthal , Eugénie Frerichs, Nathaniel Grann, Ariella Gibson, and Joshua Watson. All artists will be present at this event.

The Hartford Art School, University of Hartford is proud to deliver the first International Limited-Residency Master of Fine Arts program in Photography. This program is designed for both mature individuals with established experience in the field as well as recent graduates who wish to further their own practice and acquire an MFA degree in order to facilitate their professional credentials as artists and educators.

Faculty and Guest Lecturers Include:

Robert Lyons – Director, Dr. Jörg Colberg, Michael Vahrenwald, Alec Soth, Thomas Weski, Michael Schäfer,

Mary Frey, Doug Dubois, Alice Rose George, Hiroh Kikai, Misha Kominek, Mark Steinmetz, Ute Mahler,

Wiebke Loeper, Gerry Johansson.

Join us on Facebook: Hartford Art School – MFA Photo